"We are closer than you think!"
Made possible in part by Community Sustaining Sponsor

Made possible in part by Prime Sponsor
Witte Physical Therapy in Louisville and Plattsmouth
To become a Prime Sponsor click here

Made possible in part by Prime Sponsor
Gregg Young Chevrolet
To become a Prime Sponsor click here

Made possible in part by Prime Sponsor
Country Mile Wireless

To become a Prime Sponsor click here

The mission of the Louisville Public Library is to provide resources and services for community members of all ages to assist with individual betterment, entertainment, and learning needs.

Louisville Public Library
217 Main Street PO Box 39
Louisville, NE. 68037
Email: louisvillelibrary@gmail.com
Darla McDonald - Librarian


Monday - 10 to 6
Wednesday - 10 to 6
Friday - 10 to 5
Saturday - 9 to noon

Library Board Members:

Angie Krejci, President
Tami Michalski, Secretary
Laura McKeen
Heidi Wilhelm
Derek Anderson

The Library Board meets the 2nd Monday of the month at 6:00pm at the library. The meeting is open to the public.


Library Board Minutes

September 2015

August 2015

June 2015

May 2015

April 2015

March 2015

February 2015

January 2015

November 2014

August 2014

July 2014

June 2014

May 2014



eBooks are Here!

To access eBooks go to http://nebraska.lib.overdrive.com

You can search or browse the site without signing in, but before
you can check titles out you will need to sign in. You can sign in
at any time by clicking on the Sign In Link on the green menu
bar at the top of the screen. You will select Louisville Library
from the drop-down menu and when prompted, type in your
library card/ patron number (and in some cases a pin number).
Password – capital P and card number
Pin – 7 digit phone number




 The Louisville Public Library was started by the Louisville Women's Club in February 1901. It was started with one hundred used and donated books.

The first librarian was Mrs. S. B. (Sarah) McLeian or McLearn). She served 7 years. Miss Edith Shyrock served as librarian from 1908-1917. When the town took over the library in 1917 Edith Shyrock remained as the librarian till 1931.

Other librarians were:

Mrs. E. D. Stevenson--1932-1935
Bedella Stander--August 1937-September 1953
Gertrude Ackles--November 1953-September 1959
Doris Hirsch--September 1959-November 1960
Grace McGrew--December 1960-February 1964
Lucille McGrew--February 1964-July 1967
Elizabeth Long--August 1967-September 1971
Miriam Doty--September 1971-May 1972
Ruth Ann Hlavac--May 1972 - April 2012

Darla McDonald--April 2012 to present.

At the time the Village Board took over the library it was appointed by Mrs. E. D. Stevenson as President; Mrs. Helen A. Cleghorn as Secretary and James Stander as Treasurer in December 1916.

Besides classic literature and childrens books, Louisville Library has a wide selection of movies on DVDs and best-sellers.

Computers for public use are available or you can bring your laptop and use wireless connection while working at the library.


Library on Facebook>>